Marquette Spelling Bee Winners Announced

The final results have been released in the 2012 Marquette Area Public Schools District Spelling Bee. It was held on January 24, 2012 at the MSHS Shirley Smith Little Theater at Marquette Senior High School.

Moderator for the competition was Tracy VanAbel, Administrative Assistant in the Education Department at NMU. Judges were Dianne Linn, retired MAPS Community Education Director and Tesse Sayen, MAPS Curriculum Support & Education Foundation Assistant.

The winners, students at Bothwell Middle School, are listed below. The 1st and 2nd place winners at each grade level will move on to the regional competition which will be held on February 21 at KI Sawyer Elementary School in Gwinn. The 3rd place winner will serve as an alternate.

Grade 5

1. Sophia Bartlett

2. Jasmine Burke

3. Marlee Matthews

Grade 6

1. Peyton Sides

2. Sarah Dahlstrom

3. Sandra French

Grade 7

1. Katie Waters

2. Adam Skendzel

3. Taylor Havican

Grade 8

1. Ricky Vermeulen

2. Mikayla Matthews

3. Sydney Laakso