10th class of Electrical Line Techs graduates

The Midwest Skills Development Center presented the tenth graduating class of the Electrical Line Technician (ELT) program on April 18.

32 students received Electrical Line Technician diplomas. The students completed a one year training program, learning how to install, maintain and operate electrical systems to supply electric energy to residential, commercial and industrial customers.

The ELT program is a joint effort between Northern Michigan University (NMU), the Lake Superior Community Partnership (LSCP) and the Midwest Skills Development Center (MSDC).

The ELT program has trained 303 students to date.  These students have an 80% job placement rate after graduation, and according to the U.S. Department of Labor, the job outlook for ELT’s is expected to rise.

Find out more about the ELT program, by contacting the Lake Superior Community Foundation’s office at (906) 226-6591 or email Derek Bush at dbush@marquette.org.

line techGraduates include: Derek S. Barnes (Iron Mountain, Mich.), Darren Bartle (Marquette, Mich.), Joshua Beaudry (Marquette, Mich.), Keith Becker (Ishpeming, Mich.), Eric Blau (Rapid River, Mich.), Kyle Buckett (Calumet, Mich.), Matthew Carey (Ellsworth, Mich.), Kyle Cook (Sault Sainte Marie, Mich.), Thomas Cvengros (Iron Mountain, Mich.), Dakota Dale (Park Falls, Wis.), Bryant Dault (Escanaba, Mich.), Anthony DeMuri (Crystal Falls, Mich.), James Eman (Skandia, Mich.), Steven Fouts (Mohawk, Mich.), Zachory Gilbert (Pigeon, Mich.), Anthony Hamel (Ishpeming, Mich.), Dillon Headington (Rapid River, Mich.), Adam Kelley (Cadillac, Mich.), Thomas Lefebvre (Iron Mountain, Mich.), Patrick Murphy (Skandia, Mich.), Douglas Ohman (Marquette, Mich.), Trevor Palmer (Rapid River, Mich.), Calvin Richard (Iron River, Mich.), Ethan Schetter (Carney, Mich.), Keenan St Aubin (Gwinn, Mich.), Alexander Takala (Crystal Falls, Mich.), John Takala (Crystal Falls, Mich.), Cody Warren (Kingsford, Mich.), Joshua Weiss (Saginaw, Mich.), Eric Williams (Rapid River, Mich.), Kyle Wilson (Neguanee, Mich.) and Lucas Yeager (Ishpeming, Mich.).