CCHA releases All-Time teams

Courtesy of the CCHA

Farmington Hills, Mich. – Continuing to ‘Celebrate The Legacy’ in its’ 42nd and final season, the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) has released the league’s All-Time Team to honor the league’s top performers from the past 42 seasons.

The illustrious group of 12 players, selected by a committee of coaches, administrators and media, joins the league’s All-Decade teams from the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s that were selected in 2001, and the All-Decade Team from 2000-13 that was selected earlier this season.

All 12 players selected to the CCHA All-Time Team were All-Americans (eight multiple All-Americans) and graduated to professional careers. Ten played in the National Hockey League (NHL), Michigan State goaltender Ryan Miller blossomed into an NHL All-Star and U.S. Olympian, and Bowling Green defenseman Ken Morrow won a Gold medal with the 1980 U.S. Olympic Team. Morrow (N.Y. Islanders) and Lake Superior forward Jim Dowd (New Jersey Devils) each has their name engraved on the Stanley Cup.

The CCHA All-Time Team was chosen from the All-Decade First-Team players, Hobey Baker Award winners and All-Americans that played at least three years of college hockey. The selections were made by a committee of coaches, administrators and media that have been involved with the league for the better part of the last three decades.

Below is the team in alphabetical order by position with their overall career totals. The All-Time Team includes four Hobey Baker Award winners, including McPhee, the league’s first winner in 1982, along with Kip Miller (1990), Morrison (1997) and Ryan Miller (2002).  Morrison and Ryan Miller are the league’s only two-time Players of the Year, while Emerson is the league’s all-time leading scorer and Gagne is the all-time top scorer
among CCHA defensemen.

CCHA All-Time Team


Name, Lettered  Pos.    School  GP      G       A       Pts

George McPhee, 1978-82  F       Bowling Green   153     114     153     267

Kip Miller, 1986-90     F       Michigan State  176     118     143     261

Brendan Morrison, 1993-97       F       Michigan        155     102   182     284

Wayne Gagne, 1983-87    D       Western Michigan        162      42   99     241

Andy Greene, 2002-06    D       Miami   159      27      87     114

Ryan Miller, 1999-2002   G       Michigan State  73-18-12  1.54    .941


Name, Lettered  Pos.    School  GP      G       A       Pts

Jim Dowd, 1987-91       F       Lake Superior   181     91      183     274

Nelson Emerson, 1986-90 F       Bowling Green   178     112     182     294

Bill Joyce, 1976-80     F       Northern Michigan       130     112 143     255

John-Michael Liles, 1999-03     D       Michigan State  162     44      94 138

Ken Morrow, 1975-79     D       Bowling Green   154     34      92      126

Name, Lettered                  W-L-T           GAA     SV%

Mike Liut, 1973-77      G       Bowling Green   53-27-1 3.35    .888