MiCHO Awards, NMU\’s Gron Listed on 2nd Team

There are seven Division I hockey teams in the state: Ferris State
University, Lake Superior State University, University of Michigan,
Michigan State University, Michigan Tech University, Northern Michigan
University and Western Michigan University.

Junior forward Tyler Gron was named to the All-Micho Second Team. Juniors Andrew Cherniwchan, Justin Florek and Reid Ellingson were honorable mention. Freshmen Stephan Vigier and C.J. Ludwig were honorable mention All-Rookie.

The following is the complete awards listing:

MiCHO Player of the Year Carl Hagelin, Sr, F, Michigan
MiCHO Defenseman of the Year Torey Krug, So, D, Michigan State
MiCHO Goaltender of the Year Shawn Hunwick, Sr, G, Michigan
MiCHO Rookie of the Year Jon Merrill, Fr, D, Michigan
MiCHO Coach of the Year Jeff Blashill, Western Michigan

All-MiCHO First Team
F Carl Hagelin, Sr, Michigan
F Max Campbell, Sr, Western Michigan
F Rick Schofield, Sr, Lake Superior State
D Torey Krug, So, Michigan State
D Jon Merrill, Fr, Michigan
G Shawn Hunwick, Sr, Michigan
Coach Jeff Blashill, Western Michigan

All-MiCHO Second Team
F Louie Caporusso, Sr, Michigan
F Tyler Gron, Jr, Northern Michigan
F Chase Balisy, Fr, Western Michigan
D Zach Redmond, Sr, Ferris State
D Matt Tennyson, So, Western Michigan
G Pat Nagle, Sr, Ferris State
Coach Red Berenson, Michigan

Also receiving votes: F Andrew Cherniwchan, Jr, Northern Michigan;
Justin Florek, Jr, Northern Michigan; Milos Gordic, Fr, Michigan Tech;
Derek Grant, So, Michigan State, D Brandon Burlon, Jr, Michigan; Deron
Cousens, Sr, Michigan Tech; Steven Seigo, So, Michigan Tech; Zach Trotman, So, Lake Superior State, G Reid Ellingson, Jr, Northern Michigan; Kevin Kapalka, Fr, Lake Superior State

MiCHO All-Rookie Team
F Chase Balisy, Western Michigan
F Shane Berschbach, Western Michigan
F Milos Gordic, Michigan Tech
D Jon Merrill, Michigan
D Dan DeKeyser, Western Michigan
G Kevin Kapalka, Lake Superior State

Also receiving votes: F Ryan Furne, Michigan Tech; Kyle Jean, Lake
Superior State; Stephan Vigier, Northern Michigan, D C.J. Ludwig,
Northern Michigan