Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Law Closer to Repeal

It could soon be legal for Michigan motorcyclists to ride without helmets.

Legislation is on the verge of passing in the State House after a preliminary vote this afternoon.

The House legislation would allow a motorcycle rider 21 years of age or older to go without a helmet after they purchase a minimum of $20,000 in medical insurance.

The rider would also have to have at least two years of experience or pass a motorcycle safety course.

A final House vote is expected Wednesday.

Tagged with