Kero named finalist for Hobey Baker

HOUGHTON – Michigan Tech’s Tanner Kero has been named one of the 10 finalists for the 2015 Hobey Baker Award, given annually to college hockey’s top player. Initial fan voting is now open at He is the third Husky behind Jamie Ram (1994) and Colin Murphy (2005) to be named a finalist.

Kero was named the 2014-15 WCHA Player of the Year, the WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year, and to the All-WCHA First Team. He is also a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.

Kero, a senior forward from Hancock, Michigan, led all WCHA players in overall points (18-25=43) and conference-only points (13-21=34) during the regular season. The co-captain had 11 multiple-point games, including a four-point outburst against Alabama Huntsville (Jan. 31) to notch his 100th career point. He had two six-game point streaks with 10 points in each run. In 148 career games, he has 108 points on 53 goals and 55 assists to rank 51st in Tech history. Kero was twice named WCHA Offensive Player of the Week and was on the 50th GLI All-Tournament Team. The fourth-ranked Huskies are 14-0-1 when Kero scores a goal.

Kero maintains a 3.72 grade point average in mathematics with a concentration in actuarial science. He has received four merit awards as the top student in his class. Kero is a WCHA Scholar-Athlete for the third year in a row and also a three-time member of the WCHA All-Academic Team.

Kero was selected as a co-captain by his teammates this season after serving as an assistant captain in 2013-14. He received the Merv Youngs Award as team MVP in 2013-14. Kero is only the third Husky to be named WCHA Player of the Year and the first since Mike Zuke in 1976. He is also the third Husky to be named WCHA Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year. As a sophomore, Kero earned the team’s Harold Meese Sportsmanship Award. He is the second oldest child in a family of 10.

As a member of the Michigan Tech hockey team, Kero volunteers with Koaches Kids (reading books at local elementary schools), and volunteers at Breakers to Bay, a run that benefits a local hockey rink. He also volunteers coaching local youth hockey, when available. Kero has also volunteered his time at the Canal Run and the Portage Ball.

Other finalists include:

  • Daniel Ciampini, Union
  • Jack Eichel, Boston University
  • Matt Garbowsky, RIT
  • Zach Hyman, Michigan
  • Joey LaLeggia, Denver
  • Zane McIntyre, North Dakota
  • Mike Reilly, Minnesota
  • Jimmy Vesey, Harvard
  • Cody Wydo, Robert Morris.

Phase two of fan balloting will begin on March 19 from the list of the Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists. The fans’ vote accounts for a full one percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient.

Fans can vote via the Hobey Baker website: Click on the “Vote for Hobey” icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year’s 10 finalists Detailed bios are available for each candidate.

Award criteria include candidates emulating the exceptional character traits exhibited by the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker. A legendary American hero, Baker was a World War I fighter pilot and was known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day, excelling at hockey and football at Princeton University. Award candidates must demonstrate strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Key Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2015 include:

  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists:  April 2
  • Hobey Baker Award announcement:  April 10

The 2015 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 10, 2015 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Boston.

(Information Courtesy of MTU Athletics)