Lady Huskies to host NCAA Regional

INDIANAPOLIS — Michigan Tech will host the NCAA Midwest Regional for the third time in the last six years as it was awarded the region’s top seed. The announcement came via video stream on

Tech, which earned the GLIAC’s automatic bid, will face No. 8 Cedarville in the opening round of the tournament on Friday (Mar. 13) at 5 p.m.

Two other GLIAC teams joined Tech in the regional as at-large selections: No. 5 Ashland and No. 6 Wayne State.

No. 2 Lewis, No. 3 Drury, No. 4 Southern Indiana and No. 7 UW-Parkside are all members of the Great Lakes Valley Conference. Cedarville is a member of the Great Midwest Athletic Conference.

Michigan Tech hosted the NCAA Midwest Regional in both 2010 and 2011, winning the title each time and advancing to the NCAA Elite Eight. The Huskies enter the dance with a 27-2 record and the GLIAC North Division crown, GLIAC overall title and GLIAC Tournament Championship to their credit.

The full schedule of matchups and game times is listed below.

Friday, March 13
Game 1: 3. Drury vs. 6. Wayne State, 12 noon
Game 2: 2. Lewis vs. 7. UW-Parkside, 2:30 p.m.
Game 3: 1. Michigan Tech vs. 8. Cedarville, 5 p.m.
Game 4: 4. Southern Indiana vs. 5. Ashland, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 14
Semifinal 1: Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 5 p.m.
Semifinal 2: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner, 7:30 p.m.

Monday, March 16
Championship: Semifinal 1 winner vs. Semifinal 2 winner

(Information/Photo Courtesy of MTU Athletics)