Huskies men’s hoops hands out awards

Courtesy of MTU Athletics

Houghton, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men’s basketball team handed out its awards at a team dinner last week. The Huskies finished the 2013-14 season with the third most wins (24) in program history and made the deepest NCAA Tournament run in team history.

Senior guard Austin Armga received the Ken Hamar Award as the team’s most valuable player. He was Tech’s leader in scoring (23.0), rebounding (5.2) and minutes (34.3) while shooting 51.6 percent from the floor. Armga was also named a Division II Bulletin All-American, Capital One Academic All-American and selected to the NABC Midwest Region First Team, Daktronics Midwest Region Second Team, GLIAC First Team, NCAA Midwest Regional All-Tournament Team and GLIAC All-Tournament Team.

The Harold Meese Award for sportsmanship went to senior guard Alex Culy. He started every game of his career and was a three-time GLIAC All-Defensive Team selection. Culy averaged 6.9 points, 4.1 rebounds and 2.8 assists in 2013-14 while shooting over 45 percent from the field and beyond the arc.

Troy Hecht  and Luke Heller shared the Bill Gappy Award as the most improved player. Hecht, a junior guard, started all 32 games and averaged 3.2 points and 3.1 rebounds. Heller shot over 60 percent from the field and averaged 4.1 points and 3.4 rebounds. He is a sophomore forward and started 31 games.

Freshman Jason Hawke received the Bob Olson Award as the top newcomer. He scored in double digits in 10 games and averaged 7.5 points after appearing in all 32 games.

Kyle Stankowski leads the Huskies in the classroom with a 3.93 grade point average and was awarded the Scholastic Achievement Award for the second year in a row. The sophomore forward averaged 4.1 points and 2.8 rebounds per game in 22 games played.