MARQUETTE — A local business has recently won an award from the governor.

The Marquette Food Co–Op along with others in the state were recognized for their efforts in energy efficiency. The inaugural Governor’s Energy Excellence Awards took place last week in Lansing. The local co–op took home an award for Best Commercial (Private) project. It was recognized for it’s commitment to energy–efficient practices in renovating an abandoned grocery building to be the new home of the fast–growing business.

General Manager for the Marquette Food Co–Op Matt Gougeon says, “All of these energy efficiencies were something that our members of the Marquette Food Co–Op and our board of directors wanted in our new facility. So this was really community driven. So this is really an award that has been presented to the 4,000–plus members of the Marquette Food Co–Op, and we’re all very proud of it.”

Part of what makes them energy efficient is their use of LED lighting, rain and condensation water collection and energy efficient refrigerators.

Also from the U.P., Hollander Development Corporation in Portage received an Honorable mention for Best Project – Commercial (Private).

See below for a full list of awards and honorable mentions.

  • Innovator of the Year
    • Mike Forbis – Arborlight, Ann Arbor
    • Jim MacInnes – Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville – WINNER
    • Wendy Irvin – Habitat for Humanity Grand Traverse Region, Traverse City
  • Best Project – Residential
    • Mike and Jackie Miller, Fenton – WINNER
    • Timothy Morningstar, Saginaw
    • Charlie Richardson, East Lansing
  • Best Project – Agriculture
    • Jeff LaBar – LaBar Poultry Farm, Manistique – WINNER
    • Kari Panse – Panse Greenhouses, Kalamazoo
    • Judy Marteniuk-Refsal – Refsal/Marteniuk Farms, Laingsburg
  • Best Project – Industrial/Manufacturing
    • Dennen Steel Corp, Grand Rapids
    • General Motors, Lansing
    • Michigan Rubber Products, Cadillac – WINNER
  • Best Project – Commercial (Private)
    • Humantech, Inc., Ann Arbor
    • Marquette Food Co-Operative, Marquette – WINNER
    • Peckham Inc., Lansing
  • Best Project – Public
    • Holland Board of Public Works, Holland
    • Michigan State University, East Lansing
    • Roseville Community Schools, Roseville – WINNER
  • Contractor of the Year
    • Bartholomew Heating and Cooling/Energy Saving Services, Kalamazoo – WINNER
    • Cobblestone Homes, Saginaw
    • Keen Technical Solutions, Traverse City
  • Best Communication or Education Program
    • Consumers Energy THINK! ENERGY Program, Jackson
    • Detroit Public Schools, Detroit
    • Michigan Battle of the Buildings, Greenville – WINNER
  • Honorable Mentions
    • Best Project – Commercial (Private): Hollander Development Corporation, Portage, Michigan
    • Best Project – Public: City of Madison, Madison Heights, Michigan
    • Best Project – Residential: Regina Barnes, Swartz Creek, Michigan
    • Best Project – Agriculture: Coveyou Farms, LLC, Petosky, Michigan
    • Contractor of the Year – Randazzo Mechanical Heating and Cooling, Macomb, Michigan
    • Best Communication or Education Program – Michigan Farm Energy Program, East Lansing, Michigan
    • Innovator of the Year – Bill Ringrose, DTE Energy Efficiency Program for Business

Leave a Reply