UP law enforcement officials release statement opposing recreational marijuana

MARQUETTE — Law enforcement officials across the Upper Peninsula have stated their opposition to the passage of the recreational marijuana use proposal that’s on the Michigan ballot in November.

On Wednesday morning, Marquette County Prosecuting Attorney Matt Wiese sent out information about the negative affects of recreational marijuana use and law enforcement agencies and officers against the passage of recreational use in the state. The list included sheriffs from 12 of the U.P.’s 15 counties, as well as several Marquette County police chiefs. Six county prosecuting attorneys were also included.

According to the release from Prosecutor Wiese, “Across the State of Michigan today Prosecutors, law enforcement officials, business persons, medical professionals, educators, faith-based individuals and other citizens are participating in regional press conferences to publicly tell the citizens of our great state that recreational marijuana is simply bad for Michigan.”

The release also stated that Michigan should not pass this proposal as “no state in the Midwest has passed [a] recreational marijuana” proposal.

Proposal 18-1 will be voted on across the state on Tuesday, November 6.

The names of those officials include:

Todd Brock
Alger County Sheriff
Greg Zyburt
Marquette County Sheriff
Blake Rieboldt, Chief
Marquette City Police Department
Pete Matonich
Gogebic County Sheriff
Steve Snowaert, Chief
Ishpeming City Police Department
Brian McLean
Houghton County Sheriff
Jay Frusti, Chief
Negaunee City Police Department
John Cischke
Luce County Sheriff
Scott Jennings, Chief
Chocolay Township Police Department
Mark Valesano
Iron County Sheriff
Gordie Warchock, Chief
Forsyth Township Police Department
Mike Bitnar
Chippewa County Sheriff
Joshua Freed
Luce County Prosecuting Attorney
Dale Rantala
Ontonagon County Sheriff
Melissa Powell
Iron County Prosecuting Attorney
Rick Johnson
Baraga County Sheriff
Karen Bahrman
Alger County Prosecuting Attorney
Ed Oswald
Delta County Sheriff
Lisa Richards
Dickinson County Prosecuting Attorney
Scott Strait
Mackinac County Sheriff
Nick Jacobs
Gogebic County Prosecuting Attorney
Kenny Marks
Menominee County Sheriff
Matt Wiese
Marquette County Prosecuting Attorney