Ten U.P. teachers win local credit union’s teacher awards

NEGAUNEE — Three Upper Peninsula schools will get a bit of a boost thanks to their award-winning teachers.

Honor Credit Union announced the winners of their 7th Annual Teacher Awards on Monday. Each winner received $100 to put to use in their classroom or school. Entrants won by submitting a short description of how they would use the money to better educate their students.

This year, a third of the winners were from schools in the credit union’s three Upper Peninsula branch areas. Below is a list of this year’s winning U.P. teachers:

Gwinn Area Community Schools

  • Deb Goldsworthy
  • Amanda Kainulainen
  • Michael Nicosia
  • Shaun Clark

Marquette Area Public Schools

  • Janet Kuopus
  • Jessica Boehlke
  • Kendra Meyer

Negaunee Public Schools

  • Jodi Johnson
  • Jill Sladek
  • Brittnee Balbierz

In all, 38 teachers from those three school systems entered submissions for this year’s awards.