Finlandia adds 35 new players to their football team

HANCOCK — The Finlandia University football team is proud to announce 35 student athletes have committed to playing for the team next fall, including 19 from Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

“Our staff is proud to announce these student athletes that have committed to play for and have made their tuition deposit to attend Finlandia University,” coach said. “With this being our first full recruiting class, we feel great about these young men that are going to help build the foundation of our program.”

The Lions, who are still in the process of recruiting with dozens of additional verbal commitments, will kick off their inaugural season on September 5 with a contest against Alma College at McAfee Field in Hancock. In total the team has 10 games scheduled for its inagural season. These 35 recruits will be joining 24 players who completed their first year at Finlandia this spring.

Upper Peninsula Players

Trevor Burke

  • Westwood High School
  • All Conference Honorable Mention

Jonas Christian

  • North Dickinson High School
  • All U.P. Dream Team
  • Small School U.P. Defensive Co-Player of the year

David Garee

  • Sault Area High School
  • State Qualifier for Wrestling Heavy Weight Division

Nicholas Helgemo

  • West Iron County High School
  • All Conference First Team

Grant Holmstrom

  • Lyman High School (Wyoming)
  • Originally from Hancock
  • Wyoming Academic Challenge All Star
  • Casper Star Tribune Super 25 Honorable Mention
  • U.P. Finals Track – 800m Division II Champion

Colin Immel

  • Munising High School

Tyler Kangas

  • Manistique High School
  • Honorable/Special Mention All U.P.

Nate Marcin

  • Menominee High School
  • All U.P.
  • All Conference
  • U.P. All Star Team
  • Team Leader in Tackles
  • Detroit Free Press All State Honorable Mention

Kyle Marks
“I’m very excited to be part of something new.”

  • Sault Area High School

Luke Mcauliffe

  • Marquette Senior High School

Mitchell Messing

  • Westwood High School
  • All Conference First Team

Austin Peterson

  • Lake Linden-Hubbell High School

Mathew Schultz

  • North Dickinson High School
  • National Honor Society member
  • Eight semesters on the Honor Roll
  • Team Most Valuable Player
  • All Conference
  • All U.P.

Brody Stefonich

  • Luther L Wright High School (Ironwood)
  • All Conference Second Team

Logan Streeter

  • Negaunee High School

Gabriel Swanson

  • Iron Mountain, Michigan

Tristan Vitale

  • Westwood High School

Nicholas Walli

  • Lake Linden-Hubbell High School
  • U.P. All Star Team

Henry Williams

  • Played at Ewen-Trout Creek High School
  • All Conference
  • U.P. All Star Team


Other Players

Xavier Ashford

  • Lynde & Harry Bradley Technology & Trade School (Wisconsin)

Orion Beningo

  • St. Mary Cathedral High School

DeAnthony Braddy

  • Harper Woods, Michigan

Austin Brown

  • Tawas Area High School
  • Elected to Class Board
  • Voted Team Captain
  • Bay City Times Dream Team Honorable Mention

Duwan Brown

  • Denby High School
  • All City Second Team
  • University Prep High School
  • All Conference

Nelson Hendrickson

  • Bonduel High School (Wisconsin)

Chris Johnson

  • San Antonio, Texas

Zack Keller

  • Alanson Public Schools
  • Class representative for 2014 and 2015
  • Team Captain
  • All Conference First Team
  • Team Defensive Player of the Year

Adam Kelly

  • Lynde & Harry Bradley Technology & Trade School (Wisconsin)

Ethan Lansing

  • Ellsworth Senior High School (Wisconsin)

Sergio Pena

  • Braddock High School (Florida)

Zach Rice

  • Suttons Bay High School

Jacob Roux

  • Northville, Michigan

Dylan Wyman

  • Grayling High School

Tyler Wyman

  • Grayling High School