LANSING — Memorial Day weekend may be over, but the Click It or Ticket campaign continues.
The Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning is reminding motorists that seat belt enforcement zones will continue to be in effect across the state through May 31st. Michigan law requires drivers, front seat passengers and passengers fifteen or younger in any seat buckle up or face a $65 ticket. Children must be in a car seat or booster seat until they are eight years old or four foot nine inches tall, and children under four have to ride in the back seat.
Officials say buckling up can reduce the risk of serious injury or death in a crash by 45 percent.