Statement released on “pinhole” pipeline leak near Manistique

Courtesy:  Attorney General Bill Schuette’s Office

LANSING — Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette and Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) Director Dan Wyant issued a statement regarding a reported petroleum pipeline incident resulting from a “pinhole” leak on an Enbridge pipeline in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

Enbridge Pipe Line #5 was reported to have a “pinhole” leak on December 8, releasing an undetermined amount of natural gas liquid that was vaporized into the atmosphere.  As a result, there was no contamination requiring remediation.  The leak reportedly took place just north of Manistique near the Indian River, which is a tributary of the Manistique River close to Lake Michigan.  The discovery of the leak reportedly took place while Enbridge was investigating a potential pipe line problem reported by one of its safety systems.

The joint statement was released following a briefing at a regular meeting Monday of the Michigan Petroleum Pipeline Task Force:

“After a briefing about this incident during our pipe line task force meeting yesterday, we want to assure the public that the task force and DEQ will keep a close watch on the status of this incident to ensure the leak has been properly repaired and any environmental impacts have been reviewed.

“This incident underscores the importance of the task force as it continues an exhaustive review of the safety of petroleum pipe lines in Michigan, and to implement every possible safety precaution to protect the ecology and the economy of the Great Lakes.”

The Michigan Petroleum Pipeline Task Force was created by Wyant and Schuette in 2014 in response to safety concerns about various Michigan pipelines.

In addition to the Michigan Department of the Attorney General and the Department of Environmental Quality, the task force includes the Michigan Public Service Commission, Department of Natural Resources, DEQ’s Office of the Great Lakes, Michigan Department of Transportation and Michigan State Police, Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division.