NMU, MTU & LSSU are all in NCAA Frozen Four’s Finest tournament

Which hockey team is the greatest in the history of the Frozen Four? The NCAA is giving college hockey fans around the country a chance to decide.

NCAA.com is running a 16-team tournament that it’s calling ‘Frozen Four’s Finest’. One matchup from the tournament draw will be decided by social media vote every weekday through October 3rd.

Each of the three Division I teams in the U.P. is in the tournament. It began today with a matchup involving the 1994 Lake Superior State Lakers. They had tough sledding against the 1970 Cornell Big Red, the only national champion to ever finish a season unbeaten and untied. The voting closed at 9:00 Eastern time tonight, and Cornell has been declared the winner. Lake State did draw significant support, though; the NCAA said the Lakers and the Big Red were tied with just over an hour to go.

Tomorrow’s first-round pairing is the 1991 NMU Wildcats and the 1984 Bowling Green Falcons. Voting opens at 10 a.m. Eastern time tomorrow and closes at 10 p.m.

The first-round matchup to be decided on Friday will be the 1987 North Dakota Fighting Sioux and the 1965 Michigan Tech Huskies.

You can view the bracket and vote on the games by clicking here.