Flivvers win D-1 Tennis Championship

The Kingsford Flivvers girls tennis team won the U.P. Division 1 Championship on Wednesday for the second year in a row.

Kingsford shared the Division 1 Championship with Negaunee in 2012. The Flivvers held off the Miners by four points, 18-14, to win the title. Kingsford made it to the finals in all eight flights, winning two of them. Escanaba finished in third place with nine points.

Team Results

1. Kingsford 18

2. Negaunee 14

3. Escanaba 9

Singles Results

No. 1 Singles: Allison Carlson (Negaunee)

No. 2 Singles: Janay Walters (Kingsford)

No. 3 Singles: Angie Ring (Negaunee)

No. 4 Singles: Dana Debretto (Negaunee)

Doubles Results

No. 1 Doubles: Olivia Berquist/Shelby Gregoire (Escanaba)

No. 2 Doubles: Jalen Jennings/Ally VanRemortel (Kingsford)

No. 3 Doubles: Emily LaFave/Olivia LaForest (Escanaba)

No. 4 Doubles: Brenna Leafers/Aubrey Reynolds-Erspamer (Marquette)