U.P. Poet Laureate announced tonight

At 7 p.m. tonight,  at the Vista Theater in Negaunee, the first UP Poet Laureate will be announced.

Marquette City Commissioner Fred Stonehouse will represent the Mayor of Marquette and present a citation to the winning poet.

The presentation will be followed by readings and signings by the top five finalists for the
first U.P. Poet Laureate Award. The finalists include Elinor Benedict, Randall R. Freisinger, Eric Gadzinski, Austin Hummell and Russell Thorburn. They were nominated by authors, bookstores and librarians across the Upper Peninsula.

Authors Marty Achatz, Kathleen Heideman, Beverly Matherne, M. Bartley Seigel and Janeen Rastall will introduce the finalists.

Books from Snowbound Books will be available for purchase. In addition  to the authors, actors from the Peninsula Arts Appreciation Council will be reading selected works by the finalists.

The event is free and open to the public.