Copper Country Students Win Scholarships

HOUGHTON – The Portage Hospital Auxiliary has announced the winners of its annual scholarship program.

Five students (two Calumet High School graduates, and one each from Hancock Central High School, Houghton High School and Lake Linden-Hubbel High School) were awarded $1,000 scholarships.

“All of our applicants were very, very good this year,” said Joanne Edwards, scholarship program chairperson. “It was very difficult for us to make a decision. We were so glad to give five away, this is the first year we’ve been able to award so many.”

The award winners include:

Joshua Hendrickson: Hancock graduate who is attending Ferris State University for Pre Pharmacy.

Eric Sturos: Calumet graduate who is attending Michigan State University for Human Medicine.

Mariah Hahka: Lake Linden-Hubbell graduate who is attending Michigan Technological University collaboratively with the Wayne State MedStart Program for Biological Sciences.

Emily Anderton: Houghton graduate who is attending Northern Michigan University for Nursing.

Nathan Laakonen: Calumet graduate who is attending Ferris State University for Doctorate of Pharmacy.

Each year, the Portage Hospital Auxiliary awards scholarships to outstanding local college student who plan to enter the healthcare field. The funds are raised through the Lights of Love project. Scholarships are awarded to students from Houghton, Keweenaw, Baraga and Ontonagon counties. Scholarships are paid directly to school.

To be eligible for the 2012 scholarship, students met at least the following criteria:

Complete one year of higher education before the fall of 2011.

Be pursuing a career in healthcare.

Be a registered resident of Houghton, Keweenaw, Ontonagon or Baraga County.

Have a GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Provide an official scholastic transcript.

Write a letter briefly outlining career intent, volunteer work and financial need.