Tech Women's Basketball Team Announces Team Awards

Courtesy of MTU Athletics

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech women’s basketball team recently announced the team award winners for the 2011-12 season.

Most Valuable Player – Sam Hoyt
Hoyt was named to the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Division II Coaches All-America Honorable Mention Team. She earned first-team All-GLIAC honors and was named to the GLIAC All-Defensive Team. She averaged 16 points per game, sixth-best in the league, including a school record 37 points against Northwood on Feb. 25th. The Arkansaw, Wis., native has established herself as one of the best shooters in the league ranking second in 3-pointers made (2.7), sixth in 3-point percentage (40-percent) and 10th in free throw percentage (80-percent). She ranks fifth in assists
(4.1) and eighth in steals (1.9).

Most Improved Player and Scholastic Achievement Award – Taylor Stipple
Stipple garnered two prestigous awards this season. The first was the most improved player after having a stand-out second half of the season, including shooting 49-percent from the floor, second best on the team. She scored a career-high 18 points against Lake Erie in the quarterfinals of the GLIAC Tournament. She followed up with a 14 point performance against Ashland in semifinals. She has a 4.0 cumulative grade point average in liberal arts.

Outstanding Freshman – Jillian Ritchie
Ritchie started the last 14 of 27 games she appeared in for the Huskies. As a freshman, she was asked to step into a huge role for the team. She shot 66-percent from the field, grabbed five rebounds and recorded one steal and one assist in her first career start. Ritchie averaged 3.4 rebounds per game for the season and dished out 38 assists.

Harold Meese Sportsmanship Award – Krista Kasuboski
Kasuboski was the ultimate team leader and motivator. She averaged 6.1 points per game and started all 27 games. She tallied 49 assists and 23 steals on the year. In her career she was a part of three regional championships and a trip to the NCAA national championship game in 2011.