Voters in the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community have sent a “change” order to the Tribal Council. Unofficial results from Saturday’s Council elections show that three of the four incumbents running for re-election were defeated. For the two open positions in the Baraga district, challenger Robert “R-D” Curtis collected 220 votes… and Carole LaPointe received 219 votes. They’ll replace incumbent Gary Loonsfoot… who finished with 186 votes… and incumbent Isabelle Helene Welsh… who polled 154 votes.

For the two seats in the L’Anse district, incumbent Elizabeth “Chiz” Matthews garnered 224 votes to retain her seat… with challenger Jean Halverson Jokinen coming in second with 190 votes. Jokinen will replace current Council Vice-President William “Gene” Emery… who collected 183 votes. Challenger Lyndon Ekdahl finished fourth, with 158 votes.

Election results will not be official until confirmed by the Council later this week.