Marquette Symphony Orchestra Concert Dec 17

The Marquette Symphony Orchestra warmly invites the community to

celebrate the winter season with beautiful selections of holiday

music. New for the 2011 season, the Marquette Symphony Orchestra and

Conductor Dr. Jacob Chi will present two concerts on Saturday,

December 17, 2011: a matinee family concert at 2:00 p.m. and the full

“Sounds of the Holidays” season concert at 7:30 p.m.

The 2:00 p.m. matinee will feature highlights from the full concert

specially selected for a younger audience. This concert is intended to

accommodate shorter attention spans and the selections featured will

be family favorites. Ticket prices for the matinee are $12.00 for

adults, $8.00 for students and $4.00 for children 12 and under.

The 7:30 p.m. full concert will feature a variety of works including

“Selections from the Nutcracker Ballet” by Tchaikovsky, “Christmas at

the Movies” arranged by Bob Krogstad, “Hanukkah Festival Overture”

arranged by Lucas Richman, “Sleigh Ride” by Leroy Anderson and many

more. The 7:30 p.m. concert will also feature special guest narration.

All concert attendees are invited to an afterglow celebration

following the 7:30 p.m. concert at Sweetwater Cafe. Ticket prices for

the evening concert are $27.00 for adults, $12.00 for students and

$9.00 for children 12 and under.

Prior to the 7:30 p.m. concert, a pre-concert dinner will be held in

the Board Room of the Landmark Inn. The dinner features commentary by

Dr. Jacob Chi about the evening’s musical selections. Tickets are very

limited for the pre-concert dinner; please call (906) 228-0472 and ask for Lea Dziesinski,

to make a reservation.

Concert tickets may be purchased at any NMU EZ Ticket Outlet (NMU

Bookstore, Superior Dome, Forest Roberts Theatre and Vista Theatre) as

well as or by phone at (906) 227-1032. For more

information about the Marquette Symphony Orchestra, please visit or “Marquette Symphony Orchestra” on