Charter Review Commissioners Sworn In

Seven of the nine new members of the Charter Review Commission were sworn into their positions at Monday’s Marquette City Commission meeting. The City Charter is the legal document that governs how the City of Marquette operates and has been in place since 1952.

The nine members of the Charter Commission were elected by voters last week and although they are reviewing the document members of the community will likely play a large role in the process.

The Charter Commission is expected to meet at least twice a month.

In other business the City Clerk administered the oath of office to the three reelected City Commissioners Don Ryan, Fred Stonehouse, and Robert Neimi.