Women\’s Basketball Award Winners

MARQUETTE, Mich. – The Northern Michigan University women\’s basketball
team announced its award winners from the 2010-11 season at its awards
banquet held on Sunday (April 17).

Most Valuable Player honors went to senior point guard Steffani Stoeger.
She led the \’Cats in minutes per game (34), assists (63) and steals (54).
Junior guard Chelsea Lyons was the Playmaker of the Year after leading the team in scoring (12.8). Lyons was named Great Lakes Intercollegiate
Athletic Conference North Division Second Team.

Senior guard Kellie Rietveld received the Defensive Player of the Year
Award after being named to the All-GLIAC North Division Defensive Team.

Junior forward Staci Beckel was named the Newcomer of the Year after
scoring 10.7 points per game in her first season at NMU. Junior guard
Hillary Bowling received the Coaches Award.

Senior Erin Powers and Lyons were given the Rebound Award. The two were tied with 139 rebounds on the season. Powers shot 85.2 from the charity stripe and received the free throw award.