Tech\’s Desotell, Milbrath and Storm Named All-Region

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Three Michigan Tech football players—Matt Desotell (Green Bay, Wis./Ashwaubenon), Phil Milbrath (Norway, Mich.) and Todd Storm (Calumet, Mich.)—have earned Daktronics All-Super Region 3 First Team honors.

Milbrath, a senior running back who is still in the running for the Harlon Hill Award as the Division II player of the year, finished second in the nation in rushing (141.2 yards per game), fifth in all-purpose offense (178.7 yards per game) and ninth in scoring (9.6 points per game). He had eight 100-yard games and two 200-yard games with his career-best
performance of 293 yards and two touchdowns coming vs. No. 1-ranked Grand Valley State. The 5-9, 200-pound Milbrath racked up 1,412 rushing yards, 375 receiving yards and 16 touchdowns during his senior campaign.

Storm, a defensive end who was selected as the GLIAC Defensive Lineman of the Year, averaged 1.0 sacks per game in 2010. The 6-3, 240-pound junior registered a GLIAC-leading 10.0 sacks and the league\’s third-highest tackle-for-loss total at 14.0. Storm was also credited with 38 tackles, four quarterback hurries, three forced fumbles and three pass
breakups during the season.

Desotell is a 6-3, 300-pound senior who started 37 career games including 31 straight at left guard. He anchored an offensive line that dominated the trenches in 2010. The Huskies were second in the GLIAC in rushing at 261 yards per game and tops in the nation in sacks allowed, giving up only three all season.

All three players will now be put on the national ballot, from which the Daktronics All-America teams are selected. The announcement of the All-America teams is expected Dec. 14.

Super Region 3 is made up by the football playing institutions in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC), the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) and the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC). The honorees were selected by the region\’s sports information directors. The award program is sponsored by Daktronics,
Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems.