4 U.P. Counties Are Natural Disaster Areas

Farmers in 4 southern U.P. counties are now eligible for federal disaster aid to recoup their losses from this year’s long drought.

They’re Menominee, Dickinson, Iron and Gogebic counties.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designates them as contiguous natural disaster areas.

It’s because of crop losses from drought that began in March.

This opens up the possibility of low-interest federal emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency.

Loan applications get considered based on the extent of losses and a series of other factors.

The nearest FSA office is in Gladstone.

For more information, you can call them at 428-1060.