Sex Offender Registration Period Begins April 1

LANSING. The Michigan State Police (MSP) reminds registered Tier 3 sex

offenders that the 15-day address verification begins April 1. During

this period, state law requires all Tier 3 registered offenders to

report in person to their local law enforcement agency, sheriff’s

office, or nearest MSP post to verify their address.

The Michigan Sex Offenders Registration Act requires Tier 1 offenders

to verify their address annually, during the first 15 days of January.

Tier 2 offenders must verify their address semi-annually, during the

first 15 days of January and July. Tier 3 offenders must verify their

address quarterly, during the first 15 days of January, April, July and

October. Failure to do so carries a penalty of up to two years of


All registered sex offenders must also report a change of name,

address, employment, campus enrollment, internet identifiers and vehicle

within three business days of any change. Failure to do so is four-year


The Sex Offenders Registration Act allows for the arrest of an offender

who is not in compliance with the Act’s reporting requirements.

Violators may be arrested during a traffic stop or any other contact

with law enforcement. Additionally, law enforcement agencies conduct

random address checks to verify offender compliance.

Tagged with