Huskies ranked No. 4 this week

Huskies ranked No. 4 this week

HOUGHTON — The Michigan Tech hockey team is ranked No. 4 for the third consecutive week in the USCHO and USA Today/USA Hockey Magazine polls. The Huskies are heading to the WCHA Final Five for the first time since 2012 after a first round sweep of Alabama Huntsville.

The Huskies have the most wins in the country with a 28-8-2 overall record. They are in the polls for the 18th straight week. They have been in the top 11 all 18 weeks and were ranked No. 1 on Nov. 17 and No. 4 last week.

Tech plays Bowling Green State at 4:07 p.m. Central/5:07 p.m. Eastern in the first semifinal at the WCHA Final Five at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn. The two teams split their only meeting of the year on Jan. 16-17 in Houghton. Tech won 4-3 Friday with BGSU taking Saturday’s game 3-2.

BGSU swept Northern Michigan to advance out of the first round. No. 2 Minnesota State will play Ferris State in the second semifinal at 7:37 p.m. Central/8:37 p.m. Eastern on Friday. The WCHA Tournament Championship Game is Saturday at 6:07 p.m. Central/7:07 p.m. Eastern.

(Information Courtesy of Michigan Tech University Athletics)