20th Annual Art Awards

May 20, 2016 6:00 pm @ 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
City of Marquette Arts and Culture Center

The City of Marquette Arts and Culture Center invites the community to attend the 20th Annual Art Awards, where outstanding individuals in our community will be honored. The awards will be held at the MACC in the lower level of the Peter White Public Library located at 217 N. Front St. on Friday, May 20, 2016.

At 6 p.m. the public is invited to a celebratory reception before the Art Awards in conjunction with Lake Superior Art Association’s Annual Member Show, and the SmallWorks Gallery reception. Refreshments and hors d’oeuvres will be provided by Coco’s Restaurant. At 7 p.m. the Annual Arts Awards will begin in the community room of the Peter White Public Library. There will be performances by select award recipients and a ceremony to honor their achievements. This event is free and open to the public with a “black and white” suggested dress code to match the atmosphere of the Annual Art Awards.

Outstanding Arts Educator: Danielle Simandl
Outstanding Writer: Ragene Henry (posthumously)*
Outstanding Performing Artist: Jesse DeCaire
Arts Volunteer: Jim Clumpner
Community Arts Activist: Diane Kordich
Special Recognition Individual: Kristin Frak
Outstanding Visual Artist: Diana Magnuson
Business Honor Roll: Marquette Food Co-op
Community Arts Impact: Marquette Regional History Center
Outstanding Youth: Sydney Voss and Sophie Shahbazi

*A special exhibit honoring Ragene Henry will be hosted in the Huron Mountain Club Gallery on the first floor of the Peter White Public Library during the month of June.

For more information contact the City of Marquette Arts and Culture Center at 906-228-0472 or e-mail arts-culture@mqtcty.org.


Leave a Reply