DNR Western U.P. Citizens’ Advisory Council to Meet

The Department of Natural Resources’ Western Upper Peninsula Citizens’ Advisory Council (CAC) will meet Monday, May 14, at the Bay College-West campus in Fornetti Hall, located at 2801 US Hwy. 2 North, Iron Mountain.

Beginning at 4:30 p.m. Central Time (5:30 p.m. Eastern), DNR staff will present division reports on current DNR projects and business and answer questions from council members and the public. The council meeting will immediately follow, from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. Central Time (6 p.m. to 8 p.m. Eastern).

Agenda items include:

∙ Explanation of Commercial Forest Act rules regarding permanent structures/blinds

∙ Bear hunting license quota update

∙ Discussion of future agenda items by council

∙ Public comment (for public comment instructions, see www.michigan.gov/upcac)

The Eastern Upper Peninsula and Western Upper Peninsula CACs are designed to advise the DNR on regional programs and policies; identify areas in which the department can be more effective and responsive; and offer insight and guidance from members’ own experiences and constituencies.

The council members represent a wide variety of natural resource and recreation stakeholders and interest groups. Agenda items are set by the council members, and council recommendations are forwarded to the DNR for consideration.

CAC meetings are open to the public. If you would like to be considered as a future CAC member, please fill out the nomination form found on the DNR website at www.michigan.gov/upcac. For more information, contact DNR Upper Peninsula Regional Coordinator Stacy Welling at 906-228-6561.

The Michigan Department of Natural Resources is committed to the conservation, protection, management, use and enjoyment of the state’s natural and cultural resources for current and future generations. For more information, go to www.michigan.gov/dnr.

Tagged with